Great Sultan Great Sultan Great Sultan Great Sultan Great Sultan Great Sultan
News & EventsNews & EventsNews & Events 6_2.gif (1676 bytes)

‘Name airport at Devanahalli after Tipu’

Former cricketer Mohammed Azharuddin, former minister R Roshan Baig, journalist Ayesha Khanum, Bal Bhavan Chairperson Muktharunnisa, Oncologist Dr P S Prabhakaran, Cardiologist F Sadruddin Shariff and 19 others were conferred with the Hazrath Tipu Sultan Shahid Award for their contribution to society, at Ambedkar Bhavan on Friday.

Jointly organised by Karnataka Muslim Muttahida Tahreek (KMMT) and Mayar-E-Gulistan (MEG) news agency, Parliamentarian Ibrahim Sulaiman Sait was bestowed with the Life Achievement Award.

A memorandum was submitted by MEG Publisher Mukhtar Ahmed to Labour and Haj Minister Tanveer Sait to name the Devanahalli International Airport after Tipu Sultan.

--- Deccan Herald, Saturday, May 21, 2005